The Widower’s Journal #4

The lawns are overgrown
The mowing prices just went up
I thought you’d like to know

The neighbor had the baby
She’s an Afua just as you foretold
I thought you’d like to know

The apartment is for one now
Your baby boy finally accepted he’s a man
I know you’d hate to know

I passed by Korkor’s
The Ginger stood out as you liked
Oh and our spot was taken
I know you’d kill to know

The Pastor dropped in
I’ve decided to do it
Bible School starts next year
I insist 50 isn’t too old
I know you’d love to know

The curtains are replaced
Wine with gold trimmings
I finally got my favorite color
I knew you’d be jealous but you know

The wardrobes are empty
I gave the clothes away
They aren’t enough of you
Don’t shake your head at me
I still can flatter
I know you know.

© M’afua Awo Twumwaah 2016.

2 thoughts on “The Widower’s Journal #4

Have your say :)

