#7daysofpoetry – Day One

I thought the first poem as we review 2016 should take us back to Christmas. Last year through many happenings, I was forced to look at Christmas and Love through another lens. Not the usual gift under christmas tree thing. And I wrote this, hoping it’ll sell my heart to yours. Meet Christmas Love.

‘Christmas Love’

Her sister lay hot on a harmattan morning
Her heart bled, her maa had already started mourning
Then the little girl heard shouts in the distance –
The joy of church folks with whom she’s always hoped an acquaintance.
The doctor snapped her back to time when
She smiled and said to her maa, “a day more” and wrote more with her pen.
“I wish I could buy you some chocolate.”
Her maa said, both their eyes staring their neighbor’s plate.
It was filled with leaves and chicken.
The little girl didn’t know to think salad – her mum never prepared one in their kitchen.
You know today’s Christmas everywhere.
The little girl’s Maa said without the jealous care.
Mmhm Maa. The little girl smiled and pushed further unto the weary lap.
“I know just what God should give me after my nap.”
She grinned.
She’s always wanted big sister healed.

What was Christmas like for you last year? Yes it’s last year now.

©M’afua Awo Twumwaah 2017.

5 thoughts on “#7daysofpoetry – Day One

Have your say :)

