#7daysofpoetry – Day Two

For Day Two, I share a piece on writing and the many wonderful writers I was privileged to know last year. I am excited about the opportunities to be your own kind of writer and not necessarily have to conform. Most of all, I guess I have been awakened and I see how from an empty sheet, writers all over, no matter what they choose to write inspire conversation, challenge the rhetoric and sprinkle on you thier magic spell. Meet Day Two Read Day One.

‘Empty Me’

He stares at me
Blank and without a fear.
He has no need to be;
Not now that he is to me as water to the deer.

You see, they have fallen in love
The page and I have found the thing –
For which kings find queens
And myths say death is for a tiny match.

His emptiness is a lure,
Arousing far feelings hid in graves.
My fingers, at last in him, find their cure.
The page stares back at me, not knowing he saves.

What have you realized about writing and writers that you’ll never forget?

©M’afua Awo Twumwaah 2017.

2 thoughts on “#7daysofpoetry – Day Two

Have your say :)

