#7daysofpoetry – Day Six

Wars Don’t Feel

‘Because I chose Allepo and Aljazeera’

The sky rains fears,
Drowns those heartbeats –
their songs of plea
Or for lost love
Men are obliged not to feel.

In 2016, Aljazeera was a companion. Through the eyes of their lenses, my heart came alive to the horror that some men choose for other men. My hunger for justice, God’s righteous judgements and my desire to reflect his heart has deepened by these events. My prayer has been with victims of atrocities, not just in Syria but in Yemen, currently in Mosul and in places where I may perhaps never know. What world event keeps your heart aching for justice?

Have your say :)

